Mississippi Medical Marijuana License
License Procurement Opportunities & Initiative 65
Initiative 65 gives qualified patients 21 and older access to medical marijuana from state-licensed treatment centers. Patients are allowed a limit of 2.5 ounces of marijuana during a 14-day period. I-65 gives the Mississippi Department of Health (MSDH) the authority to license private retail dispensaries to supply medical marijuana and products to patients with a Mississippi-licensed physician’s certification. There is no limit on the number of treatment centers that may be licensed in the state, and local municipalities “shall not impair the availability of and reasonable access to medical marijuana.” However, they may impose zoning restrictions, which can be no more restrictive than those for licensed retail pharmacies.
Getting a Medical Marijuana License in Mississippi:The MSDH is required to adopt the final rules and regulations, including the full licensee qualifying criteria, by July 1, 2021. It will begin issuing ID cards and treatment center licenses no later than August 15, 2021. Currently, the only mention of application criteria in I-65 is that the proposed treatment center cannot be placed within 500 feet of a church, school, or daycare center.
GPS has the ability to stay on top of local zoning laws and lobby with local governments in favor of treatment centers. Contact us today to discuss your cannabis goals in Mississippi!